When everyone else is on your back, we’re on your side.

DUI

Multiple DUIs

A third DUI offense, or more, is considered a felony. The penalties for multiple DUI charges can range from a minimum of 12 months to 3 years in jail. Repeat DUI offenders will serve mandatory jail time if convicted. That is why it’s imperative to hire a strong DUI defense lawyer. Someone who can represent you to the fullest extent of the law may be able to help you avoid a conviction for multiple DUI’s.

Call Pete O'Connor at (630) 665-8978 for 1st, 2nd, and Multiple DUI Offenses

Our law firm represents clients who have been pulled over, charged, and arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol in DuPage County, Illinois, including the surrounding cities of Naperville, Glen Ellyn, Wheaton, Lombard, and Carol Stream. Call (630) 665-8978 to speak with an experienced and knowledgeable DUI defense attorney.

2013 Illinois DUI Sentencing Guide

Third Offense

  • Class 2 Felony
  • 3-7 years imprisonment or
  • Probation up to 48 months, and
  • Mandatory minimum 10 days jail or 480 hours community service
  • DUI Alcohol or Drug Counseling based upon a DUI evaluation
  • DUI Tech fee $1,000.00
  • $50.00 Roadside Memorial Fund Fee (730 ILCS 5/5-9-1.17)
  • Fines up to max $25,000.00
  • If BAC> .16
    • Mandatory 90 days jail and
    • Mandatory minimum fine of $2500.00
  • If passenger
    • Mandatory minimum fine of $25,000.00 and
    • Mandatory 25 days community service in a program benefitting children
  • If Great bodily harm, disability or disfigurement
    • Class 2 felony, from 480 community service to 1-12 years imprisonment (note: combining 1-12 years great bodily harm requirement; if any jail then must be minimum 1 year)

Fourth Offense

  • Class 2 Felony non-probationable
  • 3-7 years imprisonment and
  • DUI Tech fee $1,000.00
  • $50.00 Roadside Memorial Fund Fee (730 ILCS 5/5-9-1.17)
  • Maximum fine of $25,000.00
  • If BAC> .16
    • Mandatory Minimum fine is $5,000.00
  • If passenger
    • Minimum fine $25,000.00 and
    • Mandatory 25 days community service in a program benefitting children
  • If Great bodily harm, disability or disfigurement
    • Class 2 felony, from 480 hrs. community service to 1-12 years imprisonment (note: combining 1-12 years great bodily harm requirement)

Fifth Offense

  • Class 1 Felony non-probationable
  • 4-15 years imprisonment and
  • DUI Tech fee $1,000.00
  • $50.00 Roadside Memorial Fund Fee (730 ILCS 5/5-9-1.17)
  • Maximum fine of $25,000.00
  • If BAC> .16
    • Mandatory Minimum fine is $5,000.00
  • If passenger
    • Minimum fine $25,000.00 and
    • Mandatory 25 days community service in a program benefitting children
  • If Great bodily harm, disability or disfigurement
    • Class 2 felony, from 480 hrs. community service to 1-12 years imprisonment (note: combining 1-12 years great bodily harm requirement)

Sixth Offense

  • Class X Felony non-probationable
  • 6-30 years imprisonment and
  • DUI Tech fee $1,000.00
  • $50.00 Roadside Memorial Fund Fee (730 ILCS 5/5-9-1.17)
  • Maximum fine of $25,000.00
  • If BAC> .16
    • Mandatory Minimum fine is $5,000.00
  • If passenger
    • Minimum fine $25,000.00 and
    • Mandatory 25 days community service in a program benefitting children
  • If Great bodily harm, disability or disfigurement
    • Class 2 felony, from 480 hrs. community service to 1-12 years imprisonment (note: combining 1-12 years great bodily harm requirement)

DUI Death

  • If violation of DUI proximately causes death to another
    • Class 2 felony
    • Minimum is probation, or 3-14 years for one death
    • Minimum probation to 6-28 years for 2 or more deaths
    • Judge must find extraordinary circumstances to award probation 
DuPage County Bar Association