When everyone else is on your back, we’re on your side.

DUI

Glen Ellyn Teen DUI Attorney

Teenager Arrested for Glen Ellyn DUI: What Can You Do?

If your teenage son or daughter was recently arrested for DUI in Glen Ellyn, you and your family are undoubtedly concerned about the consequences. According to Illinois state statistics, only 10% of licensed state drivers are under the age of 21, but 17% of fatal DUI-related crashes involve drivers under the age of 21.

Six teenagers between the ages of 15 and 20 die every day, on average, due to automobile accidents involving alcohol. Young drivers are dangerous drivers. Although only 16% of all Illinois drivers are between 16 and 24 years old, young drivers are involved in nearly 40% of all fatal DUI-related accidents. According to 2002 statistics, nearly one-third of all fatally injured teen drivers were legally DUI when they crashed.

Punishments for Underage DUI in Illinois

If you are under 21, and you are convicted of DUI, you face a year behind bars, a $2,500 fine, and the loss of your driving privileges for two years, minimum. If you get a second underage DUI conviction within a 20-year period, you will lose your license for five years, minimum, and face a fine of $2,500 and up to a year behind bars. You'll also face a five day mandatory prison sentence or 240 hours of community service. For a third conviction of underage DUI in Glen Ellyn (or elsewhere in Illinois), you will face a Class 4 felony charge. A conviction will lead to a $25,000 maximum fine, seven years of jail time, 10-year loss of your driver’s license and mandatory jail time of 18 to 30 months.

Develop an Effective Defense to Teen DUI in Glen Ellyn

Constructing an appropriate DUI defense is neither simple, nor intuitive. It is easy to overlook potential evidence that could be useful in fighting your DUI charges. It’s also easy to miss key filing deadlines for your case.

Fortunately, the team at the Law Offices of Pete O'Connor is here to guide you through the DUI defense process in a calm, structured manner. Pete O'Connor and his team have helped many teen drivers accused of DUI overcome their challenges, rebuild their lives, and become safer citizens on the road.

Call attorney Pete O'Connor today for a free Glen Ellyn DUI consultation at (630) 665-8978, or connect with us online. We represent clients in Naperville, Wheaton, Warrenville, Aurora, Schaumburg, Villa Park, Lombard, Glen Ellyn, Addison, South Addison, Downers Grove, Bensenville, Elmhurst, Carol Stream, Oak Brook and Cook County.

What You Need to Know About Aggravated and Felony DUI Charges in Glen Ellyn, IL

The first time you are pulled over for a DUI and charged as a first time offender may be considered a misdemeanor. Normally, the charges are minimal and can easily be dismissed. However, the moment you commit a felony offense or any other type of crime in addition to driving under the influence of alcohol, you risk going to prison for more than a year if you are convicted of aggravated DUI. In short, aggravated DUI is the same as felony DUI.

More about aggravated and felony DUI charges

Glen Ellyn, Illinois Teen DUI Field Sobriety Testing

Field sobriety testing usually involves simple physical and cognitive testing to determine whether or not you have been driving under the influence of alcohol. The tests are designed by the National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration and are meant to be accurate. However, our law firm understands that standardized field sobriety tests are not always an accurate assessment of one’s ability to drive. If you have been suspected of drinking and driving while under the influence of alcohol, hire an experienced DUI defense attorney immediately.

More about field sobriety testing

DuPage County Bar Association

First DUI Offense: Glen Ellyn Teen DUI Criminal Defense Lawyer

The first DUI offense is considered a Class A misdemeanor in Illinois. When you are charged for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs as a first time offender, you may be required to have court supervision. If you are convicted, then you will most likely spend 365 days in jail (one year) and pay $2,500 in fines. Additional court costs and statutory fees may also apply.

More about first time DUI offenses

Glen Ellyn Teen Reckless Driving DUI Defense

If you were pulled over and arrested for suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol, there may be a chance for you to reduce the charges to reckless driving. The reason why it is so important to have DUI charges dismissed or reduced is because a DUI conviction is not expungable by Illinois law.

More on reckless driving

Call Today!

Contact Glen Ellyn Teen DUI Defense Lawyer Pete O'Connor Today

Contact Pete O'Connor, attorney at law, and our lawyers for DUI defense representation in Glen Ellyn, Illinois. We are experienced, aggressive, knowledgeable DUI attorneys who diligently work to fight and protect your rights in all DUI matters. Call (630) 665-8978 for an initial consultation.